More in this section More in this section

Humanities, Social Sciences and Education Faculty

The School of Humanities, Social Sciences and Education at Mount Mary is rich with talented faculty who care about their students.

Kathleen Poorman Dougherty, Ph.D.
Dean of Humanities, Social Sciences and Education
Phone: (414) 930-3162
Email:  dougherk@mtmary.edu

Divider

Sociology, Anthropology, and Peacebuilding

Krista Moore, Ph.D.
Associate Professor and Department Chair
Phone: (414) 930-3353
Email: moorek@mtmary.edu
Expertise: Medical sociology, research methods, sociology, social gerontology

Sister Joanne Poehlman, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Phone: (414) 930-3398
Email: poehlmj@mtmary.edu
Expertise: Anthropology; culture; gender, race and ethnicity

Lynne M. Woehrle, Ph.D.
Professor
Phone: (414) 930-3521
Email: woehrlel@mtmary.edu
Expertise: Conflict analysis and peacebuilding, environmental sustainability, families in transition, mediation, social theory, sociology

back to top  |  back to program

Divider

Communication

Marmy Clason, Ph.D.
Associate Professor and Department Chair
Phone: (414) 930-3143
Email: clasonm@mtmary.edu
Expertise: Gender and organizational communication, intercultural communication

Jennifer Peterson, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
Phone: (414) 930-3389
Email: petersoj@mtmary.edu
Expertise: Health communication

back to top  |  back to program

Divider

Education

Debra Dosemagen, Ph.D.
Associate Professor, Department Chair and Graduate Program Director
Phone: (414) 930-3160
Email: dosemagd@mtmary.edu
Expertise: Mathematics education, teacher research

Cindy Keller, M.A.
Director of Teacher Education
Phone: (414) 930-3256
Email: kellerc@mtmary.edu
Expertise: Teacher education

Isabel Maria Piana, M.A.
Director of Archdiocesan Teacher Resource Center
Phone: (414) 930-3392
Email: pianai@mtmary.edu
Expertise: Teacher resource center

Susan Wetrich, M.A.
Adjunct Instructor
Phone: (414) 930-3511
Email: wetrichs@mtmary.edu
Expertise: Early childhood education, special education, literacy

back to top  |  back to program

Divider

English

Ann Angel, M.F.A
Associate Professor
Phone: (414) 930-3109
Email: angela@mtmary.edu
Expertise: Creative fiction, nonfiction writing, writing for children and young adults 

Debra Brenegan, Ph.D.
Associate Professor and Graduate Program Director
Phone:  (414) 930-3132
Email: brenegad@mtmary.edu
Expertise:  Creative writing, American literature, women's literature, journalism & new media writing

Laura Otto, M.F.A.
Associate Professor and Department Chair
Phone: (414) 930-3379
Email: ottol@mtmary.edu
Expertise: Writing for New Media, creative writing, journalism

Paula Reiter, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Phone: (414) 930-3412
Email: reiterp@mtmary.edu
Expertise: 19th century British fiction, narrative techniques, novel writing, linguistics 

Adjunct Faculty

Mary Beth Duffey, Ph.D.
Adjunct Instructor
Phone: (414) 930-3164
Email: duffeym@mtmary.edu
Expertise: Composition, film as literature, literature and healing professions, women writers, study abroad in Ireland and Guatemala             

Donna Foran, Ph.D.
Adjunct Instructor
Phone: (414) 930-3182
Email: forand@mtmary.edu
Expertise: British and American Literature, Victorian literature            

Paul Gagliardi, ABD
Adjunct Instructor
Phone: (414) 930-3191
Email: gagliarp@mtmary.edu
Expertise: American literature, literary theory, composition

Heather Henry, M.F.A.
Adjunct Instructor
Phone: (414) 930-3226
Email: henryh@mtmary.edu
Expertise: Creative writing            

Tanya V. Keenan, M.A.
Adjunct Instructor and Coordinator of the Writing Sequence
Phone: (414) 930-3254
Email: keenant@mtmary.edu
Expertise: Composition.             

Christopher Mohar, M.F.A.
Adjunct Instructor
Phone: (414) 930-3350
Email: moharc@mtmary.edu
Expertise: Creative writing    

Lisa Beranek Terasa, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor 
Phone: (414) 930-3479
Email: terasal@mtmary.edu 
Expertise: Composition, literature, popular culture, food and literature      
        
Jane A. Thompson
Instructor
Phone: (414) 930-3480
Email: thompsj@mtmary.edu 
Expertise: Composition and literature            

back to top  |  back to program

Divider

History

S. Linda Marie Bos, SSND, M.A., Ph.D.
Associate Professor and Department Chair
Phone: (414) 930-3127
Email: boslm@mtmary.edu
Expertise: online teaching, religious and general history

Julie Tatlock, Ph.D.
Instructor
Phone: (414) 930-3478
Email: tatlockj@mtmary.edu
Expertise: World civilizations, United States history, Middle East, Africa, Tudor England, United Nations

Monica Witkowski, Ph.D.
Adjunct Instructor
Phone: (414) 930-3519
Email: witkowsm@mtmary.edu
Expertise: Women in Colonial America

back to top  |  back to program

Divider

International Studies/World Languages

Mary Ellen Kohn-Buday, Ph.D.
Associate Professor and Department Chair
Phone: (414) 930-3271
Email: kohnbudm@mtmary.edu
Expertise: Spanish literature in the Golden Age, languages for translation, culture

Nan Metzger
Study Abroad Program Director
Phone: (414) 930-3338
Email: metzgern@mtmary.edu
Expertise: Study abroad

Joe Fricano
Adjunct Instructor, Spanish
Phone: (414) 930-3187
Email: fricanoj@mtmary.edu
Expertise: Spanish language and pedagogy, bilingual education

Jason Meyler, Ph.D
Assistant Professor and Department Chair
Phone: (414) 930-3341
Email: meylerj@mtmary.edu
Expertise: US Latino/a and Latin American Literature and Culture

Kathryn Meyler
Adjunct Instructor, French
Phone: (414) 930-3342
Email: meylerk@mtmary.edu
Expertise: French language and culture

Veronica Fregoso
Adjunct Instructor, Spanish
Phone: (414) 930-3185
Email: fregosov@mtmary.edu
Expertise: Spanish language

back to top  |  back to program

Divider

Justice

Rachel Monaco-Wilcox, J.D.
Assistant Professor and Department Chair
Phone: (414) 930-3351
Email: monacowr@mtmary.edu
Expertise: Pre-law advising, trusts, estates, elder law and tax law, issues such as human trafficking

Cheryl Frey, M.S.
Adjunct Instructor
Phone: (414) 930-3186
Email: freyc@mtmary.edu
Expertise: Probation/corrections, correctional alternatives

back to top  |  back to program

Divider

Philosophy

James Conlon, Ph.D.
Professor
Phone: (414) 930-3148
Email: conlonj@mtmary.edu
Expertise: Modern and contemporary philosophy; philosophy of film, art, travel and love

Jennifer Hockenbery, Ph.D.
Professor and Department Chair
Phone: (414) 930-3231
Email: hockenj@mtmary.edu
Expertise: History of philosophy, ancient philosophy, ethics, philosophy of religion, philosophy of women

Austin Reece, ABD
Instructor
Phone: (414) 930-3409
Email: reecea@mtmary.edu
Expertise: Ethics, philosophy of religion, continental philosophy, philosophy of literature, Freud

back to top  |  back to program

Divider

Theology

Shawnee Daniels-Sykes, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Phone: (414) 930-3152
Email: sykess@mtmary.edu
Expertise: Moral theology, biomedical ethics, African-American theology
Download CV

Donald Rappé, Ph.D.
Professor, Department Chair and Liberal Studies Program Director
Phone: (414) 930-3405
Email: rapped@mtmary.edu
Expertise: Biblical theology, study abroad in Rome

Helga Kisler, Ph.D.
Adjunct Instructor
Phone: (414) 930-3263
Email: kislerh@mtmary.edu

back to top  |  back to program