Natural & Health Sciences and Education Faculty

The School of Natural and Health Sciences and Education at Mount Mary is rich with talented faculty who care about their students.

Cheryl Bailey, Ph.D. 
Dean of the School of Natural and Health Sciences and Education
Phone: (414) 930-3111
Email: baileyc@mtmary.edu


Art Therapy

Chris Belkofer, Ph.D., ATR-LCPC
Master of Science in Art Therapy Program Director
Phone: (414) 930-3120
Email: belkofec@mtmary.edu

Monique Matic, M.A., ATR-BC, LPC
Graduate Art Therapy Program
Assistant Professor and Practicum/Internship Coordinator
Phone: (414) 930-3669
Email: maticm@mtmary.edu
Expertise: Multicultural art therapy and counseling, trauma informed care, clinical supervision, community mental health and psychology, and art therapy and counseling education

Heather Leigh, DAT, ATR-BC, LCPC
Associate Professor, Art Therapy
Art Therapy Department Chair
Email: leighh@mtmary.edu
Expertise: Adlerian theory and art therapy, signature pedagogies for art therapy, art therapy with elders, and community building using art

Melody Todd, M.S., ATR
Assistant Professor and Undergraduate Program Adviser
Phone: (414) 930-3483
Email: toddm@mtmary.edu 
Expertise: Community building through Art, Art and Spirituality, Leadership for Social Justice, and Undergraduate Art Therapy Education

back to top  |  back to program


Biology

Kathleen Boyle, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor, Biology
Phone: (414) 930-3528
Email: boylek@mtmary.edu
Expertise: Microbiology, Molecular Biology, Cell Biology, Genetics, Virology

Christine Hoffmann, DC, MHA
Assistant Professor, Biology
Phone: (414) 930-3361
Email: hoffmanc@mtmary.edu
Expertise: Anatomy, Physiology, Exercise Physiology, Neurobiology

Louise C. Kessler, Ph.D. 
Assistant Professor, Biology
Phone: (414) 930-3301
Email: kesslerl@mtmary.edu
Expertise: Microbiology, Prokaryotic Gene Regulation, Cell Biology, Molecular Techniques

back to top  |  back to program


Chemistry

Colleen Conway, Ph.D.
Professor
Phone: (414) 930-3149
Email: conwayc@mtmary.edu 
Expertise: Biochemistry, Environmental science, Organic chemistry

Steve Levsen, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Phone: (414) 930-3307
Email: levsens@mtmary.edu 
Expertise: Organic chemistry with a focus on asymmetric synthesis

back to top  |  back to program


Counseling

Carrie King, Ph.D., LPC, NCC
Professor, Counseling Department Chair, Program Director for School Counseling and Clinical Mental Health Counseling
Phone: (414) 930-3262
Email: kingc@mtmary.edu
Expertise: Career development, counseling children and adolescents, counseling theories, ethics,  multicultural counseling, school counseling, psychopharmacology, clinical supervision

Tammy H. Scheidegger, Ph.D., LPC, NCC
Associate Professor and Counseling Practicum/Internship Coordinator
Phone: (414) 930-3434
Email: scheidet@mtmary.edu
Expertise: Trauma counseling, eating disorders, family therapy, psychopathology, clinical supervision

Terri Jashinsky, Ph.D., CRC
Associate Professor
Phone: (414) 930-3239
Email: jashinst@mtmary.edu
Expertise: Addiction counseling, assessment, program evaluation, career development, clinical rehabilitation, clinical supervision

Jane Rheineck, Ph.D., LPC (IL), NCC
Professor
Phone: (414) 930-3442
Email: rheinecj@mtmary.edu
Expertise: LGBTQ issues and counseling, multicultural counseling, counseling ethics, clinical supervision, leadership in counseling

Melissa Kraemer Smothers, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Phone: (414) 930-3276
Email: kraemerm@mtmary.edu
Expertise: Counseling techniques and theories, group procedures in counseling, trauma counseling, clinical supervision

Marion Toscano, Ph.D., LCPC (MD), NCC
Assistant Professor
Phone: (414) 930-3420
Email: toscanom@mtmary.edu
Expertise: LGBTQ, spirituality, multicultural counseling, statistics and research

Mary M. Muhammad, Ph.D., LPC, CSAC, CCM, NCPS
Assistant Professor and Clinical Director of the Counseling and Wellness Center
Phone: (414) 499-2088
Email: muhammam@mtmary.edu
Expertise: Clinical supervision

back to top  |  back to program


Dietetics

Dietetics Department: (414) 930-3167

Pat Kempen, MS, RD, CD
Department Chair and Program Director/Faculty
Coordinated Program-Dietetics
Phone: (414) 930-3257
Email: kempenp@mtmary.edu
Expertise: Food and nutrition management, food service sanitation and safety

Dana Scheunemann Ph.D., MS, RD, CD
Assistant Professor - Coordinated Program in Dietetics
Phone: (414) 930-3658
Email: scheuned@mtmary.edu
Expertise: Clinical nutrition, renal disease, community nutrition, and research design 

back to top  |  back to program


Education

Debra Dosemagen, Ph.D.
Professor, Department Chair and Graduate Program Director
Phone: (414) 930-3160
Email: dosemagd@mtmary.edu
Expertise: Mathematics education, teacher research

Kristin Whyte, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
Phone: (414) 930-3106
Email: whytek@mtmary.edu
Expertise: Early Childhood Education

back to top  |  back to program


Food Science

Anne Vravick, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor 
Graduate Program Director, Food Science
Phone: (414) 930-3497
Email: vravicka@mtmary.edu  
Expertise: Food toxicologies: PCQI Lead Instructor, Toxicological testing

back to top  |  back to program


Mathematics

Sherrie Serros, Ph.D.
Department Co-Chair
Professor
Phone: (414) 930-3585
Email: serross@mtmary.edu
Expertise: Mathematics Education, Set Theory

Jeremy Edison, Ph.D.
Department Co-Chair
Assistant Professor
Phone: (414) 930-3463
Email: edisonj@mtmary.edu
Expertise: Ring Theory, Representation Theory

back to top  |  back to program


Nursing

Jennifer Dahlman, RN, MSN, PhD
Assistant Professor, Nursing
Phone: (414) 930-3677
Email: dahlmanj@mtmary.edu
Expertise: Pediatrics, Online mentoring, and working with first-generation and marginalized student communities

back to top  |  back to program


Occupational Therapy

Occupational Therapy Department:  (414) 930-3059, mmu-ot@mtmary.edu

Meghan Anderson, OTD, OTR/L
Assistant Professor, Academic Fieldwork Coordinator
Phone: (414) 930-3659
Email: andersom@mtmary.edu
Expertise: Brain injury, neurorehabilitation

Stephanie Beisbier, OTD, OTR/L
Associate Professor, Professional Entry Program Director
Phone: (414) 930-3118
Email: beisbies@mtmary.edu 
Expertise: Pediatrics, school-based practice

Nicole Boyington, OTD, MOT, OTR/L
Assistant Professor, Academic Fieldwork Coordinator
Phone: (414) 930-3386
Email: boyingtn@mtmary.edu 
Expertise: Lymphedema, geriatrics, home modification

Rita Burlingame-Toppen, OTD, OTR/L
Assistant Professor
Phone: (414) 930-3451
Email: burlingr@mtmary.edu 
Expertise: Physical disabilities, myofascial release, yoga

Cindy Clough, Ph.D., OT/L
Assistant Professor
Phone: (414) 930-3589
Email: cloughc@mtmary.edu
Expertise: Pediatrics, therapy services abroad

Julie Hunley, Ph.D., OT/L
Associate Professor
Phone: (414) 930-3236
Email: hunleyj@mtmary.edu 
Expertise: Physical disabilities rehabilitation, lymphedema, breast cancer

Kari C. Inda, Ph.D., OTR/L, CEAS
Professor, Occupational Therapy Chairperson
Phone: (414) 930-3238
Email: indak@mtmary.edu 
Expertise: Neurorehabilitation, orthopedics, critical thinking skills, certification, technology

Susan LaCroix, OTD, OTR/L
Assistant Professor, Academic Fieldwork Coordinator
Phone: (414) 930-3286
Email: lacroixs@mtmary.edu 
Expertise: Gernotology, dementia

Heather Martin, OTD, OTR/L
Assistant Professor
Phone: (414) 930-3328
Email: martinh@mtmary.edu
Expertise: Pediatrics

Jane Olson, Ph.D., OTR/L, FAOTA
Professor, Post-Professional Program Director
Phone: (414) 930-3376
Email: olsonj@mtmary.edu 
Expertise: Educational outcomes, occupational science and research, program review

Kelly Stapelman, OTD, OTR/L
Assistant Professor, Doctoral Capstone Coordinator
Phone: (414) 930-3662
Email: stapelmk@mtmary.edu
Expertise: Geriatrics, management, emerging practice

Mitchell Voss, OTD, MBA, OTR/L, SCLV
Post-Professional Master's Program Coordinator
Phone: (414) 930-3190
Email: vossm@mtmary.edu 
Expertise: Orthopedics, work rehabilitation

back to top  |  back to program


Psychology

Laurel End, Ph.D., LPC
Professor, Psychology Department Chair
Phone: (414) 930-3172
Email: endl@mtmary.edu 
Expertise: Cognitive psychology, cognitive neuroscience, creativity, cognitive and behavioral factors impacting women’s performance in STEM fields, psycholinguistics

back to top  |  back to program


Social Work

Melinda Kiltz, MSW, MPA
Social Work Department Chair and Associate Professor
Phone: (414) 930-3261
Email: kiltzm@mtmary.edu

Andrya Soprych, DSW, LCSW
Assistant Professor & Social Work Field Director
Phone: (414) 930-3511
Email: soprycha@mtmary.edu
Expertise: Constructivist pedagogy, interdisciplinary practice

back to top  |  back to program