Seven Mount Mary student journalists win city awards

The Milwaukee Press Club recently announced the winners of the 2022 Excellence in Journalism awards. Congratulations to these students who won the following awards:

In these pieces, students were given an opportunity to employ both current media tools and timeless narrative strategies, said Jennifer Moody, assistant professor in Mount Mary’s English department.

“As new platforms and technologies make podcasting a more accessible genre, the students behind ‘The Underground,’ for example, remind us that at the core of storytelling are two key values: compassionate collaboration and community-driven communication,” Moody said.

The Milwaukee Press Club, one of the oldest press clubs in the world, will honor awardees at the annual Gridiron Awards Dinner on Friday, May 12 at The Pfister Hotel in Milwaukee. Proceeds from the event help to ensure the quality of Southeastern Wisconsin’s journalism community for years to come through college scholarships, mentoring, professional development and industry advocacy.