Centennial Art Exhibit
Mount Mary University Centennial Art Exhibit Showcases 100-Year History
MILWAUKEE (October 22, 2013) - Mount Mary University's centennial exhibit, The Mount Mary Story, is on display for public viewing in the Marian Art Gallery through November 23rd. The exhibit, which was in development for one year, is sponsored by the Mount Mary University Alumnae Association and was created by Mount Mary Archives, alumnae, students, faculty, and staff. It features photographs, narratives, artwork, videos, garments from the Historic Costume Collection, and artifacts including the first diploma from the institution.
The display depicts significant chapters of Mount Mary's rich history through photographs of a "Parade of Presidents," the evolution of the campus through new building expansion, distinguished visiting lecturers and guests, and a host of academic and extracurricular activities. A special "Then and Now" area features photographs of students spanning the decades displayed next to photographs of the same image recreated with today's students.
Video presentations pay homage to the School Sisters of Notre Dame, the University's founders. "Mount Mary University: Serving Women who Serve the World" provides a glimpse into past traditions such as the May Crowning and bygone athletic activities including horseback riding and archery. "Stories from Our Sisters: A Centennial Treasury" features retired School Sisters who served as faculty and in administrative roles reminiscing about the early days of the institution, their vision and mission for the University and their most memorable moments.
Get into the Picture
The "Get into the Picture" display was created by 100 alumnae who were each provided a 4" x 4" canvas bearing a traced image of an iconic Mount Mary image. Each artist interpreted the image using their chosen medium. The finished tiles were reassembled to create a large, vivid, three-dimensional mosaic of the Mount Mary campus.
Mount Mary in the News
A snapshot of Milwaukee at the time of Mount Mary opening its doors on its present day campus in 1929 was captured in a six-page special insert in the Milwaukee Journal. Actual size replicas of the pages contain stories such as "Portrait of a Pioneer - Mother Caroline," "King Louis of Bavaria Purchased Convent Site," and "Stagecoach Days - Sisters Meet Hardship on Journey Here" Congratulatory advertisements from local businesses and organizations at the time are also featured and include Hartung Limestone (masonry provider for Notre Dame Hall), Swan Riding Academy, the former owner of the land housing Mount Mary's campus, Kunzelman Esser Company and Marquette University.
A selection of 1929 and period garments from the University's Historic Costume Collection are juxtaposed with garments created by current Mount Mary University fashion students.
The historic exhibit is open daily in Marian Gallery on the first floor of Caroline Hall at 2900 N. Menomonee River Parkway. Hours are 9:00 a.m. to 7:00 p.m Monday - Friday, and 1:00 to 4:00 p.m. Saturday and Sunday. The exhibit will be available for display off-site at no charge on a loan basis.
For more information about the exhibit, or to inquire about displaying the exhibit, contact Ann McIntyre, Archivist, at firstname.lastname@example.org or (414) 258-4810.